Covers shown: LP 1985, CD Germany 1989, CD 1998

••• click here to buy from amazon usa

••• click here to buy from amazon canada

••• click here to buy from amazon uk

••• click here to buy from amazon japan

Japan: Strawberry Records SBL-1001
Re-issued on CD in 1989, Germany: Meistersinger Records NGH-CD-343*
Re-issued on CD in 1998, Japan: On-Off/Tokuma Japan TKCB-71492

* Album cover photo by Morgan Fisher

1. Gnossienne No. 1 cabaret piano
2. Gymnopedie No. 1 sugar plum piano/ water bell synthesizer
3. Gnossienne No. 3 street corner mouth accordion
4. Gnossienne No. 3 organ ripple synthesizer
5. Gymnopedie No. 1 hesitant piano/ confident lips
6. Gnossienne No. 1 french ice piano/ siberian snow synthesizer
7. Gnossienne No. 1 german haiku melodica
8. Gymnopedie No. 3 family piano/ a hint of la-la-la
9. Gnossienne No. 2 perrier swing synthesizer
10. Gymnopedie No. 2 resonant concert piano/ tide synthesizer
11. Gymnopedie No. 1 festival soft fanfare synthesizer

Bonus tracks on 1999 CD:
12. The Emerald Isle
13. In A Gentle Way
14. Going Nowhere

Erik Satie (1866-1925) is one of Morgan’s favourite composers. A strange, eccentric, surreal man, he was never as acclaimed as the established masters, but influenced not only the likes of Debussy but also many of the Dada artists. On this album Morgan played his music freely after a brief look at the scores. The album was recorded in just three days and features piano, melodica, synthesisers, and Morgan’s favoured tape delay system. Many listeners have commented that this is one of the few interpretations of Satie’s music (as opposed to straight performances) that stays true to the spirit of the composer, unlike various jazz, rock and techno style versions of his music that have been recorded. A truly intimate and joyful journey inside the mind of this unique musical pioneer.

The 1998 CD reissue adds Morgan’s three tracks from "A Slice Of Life" and, like "Flow Overflow" was beautifully remastered and re-packaged in a sleeve featuring a photograph by the renowned American photographer, Regina Deluise. (Note: the name Veetdharm which appears on the LP jacket was given to Morgan by his spiritual teacher at the time).